is an art museum in Tehran, Iran.
The museum was designed by Iranian architect Kamran Diba, who employed elements from traditional Persian architecture. It was built adjacent to Laleh Park, Tehran, and was inaugurated in 1977. The building itself can be regarded as an example of contemporary art. Most of the museum area is located underground.
Garden of Sculptures, near the museum
It is considered to have the most valuable collection of Western modern art outside Europe and the United States, a collection largely assembled by founding curators David Galloway and Donna Stein under the patronage of Farah Pahlavi. It is said that there is approximately £2.5 billion worth of modern art held at the museum. The museum hosts a revolving programme of exhibitions and occasionally organises exhibitions by local artists.
formerly called Park-e Farah after Farah Diba), is a large recreation area of the Iranian capital Tehran.
It is well-kept and has beautiful green areas adjacent to Keshavarz Boulevard in the south, The Ministry of Agriculture in the east, Iran’s National Rug Gallery to the northwest, and the Tehran Museum of Contemporary Art in the west.
This park (one of c. 800 parks in Tehran) lies in central Tehran and north of Tehran University. Laleh Park is one of the biggest parks in Tehran.
Laleh Park provides pathways for walking and shade for picnics and relaxation. The park has become a popular meeting place for young people and a picnic area for families. Around the park are some popular coffee shops, fast-food outlets, and shopping centers and designer boutiques in nearby Valiasr Square.
The premises that have been turned into museum where glass and clay works are on display were built about 90 years ago upon orders ofAhmad Qavam (Qavam-ol-Saltaneh) for his personal lodging (residence and working office). The building is situated in a garden with a span of 7000 square meters and was used by Qavam himself till the year 1953.
Later, the building were sold to the Egyptians as the new premises for the embassy of Egypt and remained in their possession for seven years. When relations were strained between Iran and Egypt at the time of Abdul Nasser and subsequent to the closure of the Egyptian embassy in Iran, the Commercial Bank purchased the building.
However, it was sold to Farah Pahlavi’s bureau in 1976 and was turned into a museum by three groups of Iranian, Austrian and French architects. The museum was opened in 1980 and was registered in the list of national heritage in 1998.
The main establishment of the museum that occupies an area of 1040 square meters is a two-storey octagonal building with suspended pillars and a basement. It is situated on the entrance side of the premises. The architectural style of the building is a combination of the traditional Iranian style and the European architecture of the 19th century.
The first floor is connected to the second one through wooden steps in Russian style. Prior to the time when the building was transferred into the Egyptian embassy, the entrance of the museum was doomed-shaped but was later flattened.
Parts of the walls in the basement are decorated in traditional style with big tiles. Double windows have been used in the architecture of the building instead of terrace and wooden doors have been installed behind the windowpanes in order to regulate the light and temperature of the interior of the building. The exterior and interior of the museum comprise such decorations as brick works, plaster works, mirror works and inlaid works.
Beyond the hubbub surroundings of central Tehran stands a scenic old house recently renewed into a splendid museum. As soon as one step inside the entrance vestibule of the house, suddenly the daily mechanical life fades away.
The walls do not allow the surrounding commotion to enter the private enclosure of this house known as one of the most valuable houses in the world.
The house once belonged to Mohsen Moghadam, the youngest son of Ehtesab-ol-Molk, Tehran’s mayor during Nassereddin Shah’s rule. It came to be known as such in the 1950s and 60s when Professor Arthur Upham Pope, the American art historian, wrote an article entitled “Survey of Iranian Arts” in Sepid-o-Siah magazine about this unique house and its valuable historical objects.
Moghadam loved painting since childhood. He studied painting at Kamal-ol-Molk’s school. He can even be seen in Kamal-ol-Molk’s famous painting of his class. Later, together with his brother Hassan, Mohsen was sent to Switzerland to study painting. He returned to Iran during the World War II, but left again, this time to study history and archeology.
Upon returning home, Moghadam began to travel with archeological groups to various historical sites such as Deylaman and Shoush as supervisor.
Moghadam was one of the first Iranian archeologists who worked with specialists at several historical sites. He was the founder of Fine Arts College and taught at Tehran University.
Together with his French wife, they decided to dedicate their lives to set up a museum of all the valuable objects they could collect. The couple living in Moghadam House considered historical objects in their house as their legacy for the next generations.
The house, presently known as Moghadam Museum, was one of the luxurious houses of the Qajar period and has two sections called Birouni (public wing) and Andarouni (private wing).
Along with all the other splendid parts of this majestic house, visitors can also see beautiful golden tiles installed on the walls. Some of these tiles are unique in the world.
Moghadam’s textile collection is also among rare collections of the world. They are now kept frozen in the complex and only one is publicly displayed in a glass showcase.
In addition to all the doors and tiled walls of Moghadam’s gorgeous building, there is also a small room next to the entrance of the basement with all its doors and walls decorated with valuable and semi-valuable gems and corals.
Malek National Library and Museum was stationed at Malek’s historical house until 1966. From that year the center was transferred to a new building in the central part of Tehran and has expanded its activities.
According to its charter the Library and Museum Center pursues the following objectives:
Execution of Hossein Malek’s Letter of Endowment and encouraging charitable people to donate art works
Preserving the library’s treasured collection and updating them
Preservation, reassessment and introduction of cultural and art works of the past eras
Acquiring exquisite collections and art works
The management and staff of the National Malek Library and Museum take pride in receiving and serving you and they are confident your views and recommendations will be invaluable for the better management of the center. You may contact us through one of the following channels:
Melal-e Mottahed (United Nations) Street, Bagh-e Melli (National Garden), Imam Khomeini Avenue, Tehran. P.O. Box: 11155/547
+98 21 66726613, 53(operator)
+98 21 66751291 (Public Relations)
The oldest of the historic monuments in Tehran, the Golestan Palace (Palace of Flowers) belongs to a group of royal buildings that were once enclosed within the mud-thatched walls of Tehran’s Historic Arg (citadel).
The Arg was built during the reign of Tahmasb I (r. 1524-1576) of the Safaviddynasty (1502-1736), and was later renovated by Karim Khan Zand (r. 1750-1779). Agha Mohamd Khan Qajar (1742-1797) chose Tehran as his capital. The Arg became the site of the Qajar (1794-1925).Court and Golestan Palace became the official residence of the royal family.During the Pahlavi era (1925-1979) Golestan Palace was used for formal royal receptions. The most important ceremonies to be held in the Palace during the Pahlavi era were the coronation of Reza Khan (r. 1925-1941) in Takht-e Marmar and the coronation of Mohammad Reza Pahlavi (r. 1941-deposed 1979) in the Museum Hall.In its present state,Golestan Palace is the result of roughly 400 years construction and renovations. The buildings at the contemporary location each have a unique history.
tel: (+98) 021 – 33113335
fax: (+98) 021 – 33111811
The spectacular terrace known as Takht-e-Marmar (Marble Throne) was built in 1806 by order of Fath Ali Shah Qajar (r. 1797-1834). Adorned by paintings, marble-carvings, tile-work, stucco, mirrors, enamel, woodcarvings, and lattice windows; the throne embodies the finest of Iranian architecture. The Marble Throne is one of the oldest buildings of the historic Arg. The existing throne, which is situated in the middle of the terrace (iwan), is made of the famous yellow marble of Yazd province.
The throne is made of sixty-five pieces of marble and was designed by Mirza Baba Naghash Bashi (head painter) of the Qajar court. Mohammad Ebrahim, the Royal Mason, oversaw the construction and several celebrated masters of the time worked on the execution of this masterpiece. The architectural details and other ornaments of the terrace (iwan) were completed during the reigns of Fath Ali Shah and Nasser – ol- Din Shah (r. 1848-1896).
Coronations of Qajar kings, and formal court ceremonies were held on this terrace (iwan). The last coronation to be held at Takht-e-Marmar was the coronation of, the self-proclaimed King, Reza Khan Pahlavi in 1925.
Talar Salam (Reception Hall) was originally designed to be a museum. After theTakht-e-Tavoos (Iranian’s famous Jeweled Peacock Throne) was moved to the Royal jewels collection at the Central Bank, this hall was designated to hold special receptions in the presence of the king, hence the name Talar Salam.
Tourists and envoys from European courts received in the Arg during the reign of Nasser-ol-Din Shah, spoke of this outstanding hall comparing it to its European counterparts.
This hall has exquisite mirrors work. The ceiling and walls are decorated with plaster molding. The floors are covered with mosaic.
During the reign of Nasser-ol-Din Shah, this hall was used to exhibit Iranian and European paintings alongside gifts presented to the Iranian court. Royal jewels were also exhibited inside glass cases. These jewels are now housed at the Royal Jewels Museum of the Central Bank.
is a historical market situated in the capital of Iran, Tehran. Throughout its history, in addition to shops the Grand bazaar has contained banks and financiers, mosques and guest houses.
Traditionally, the Tehran bazaar was split into corridors, each specialising in different types of goods, including copper, carpets, paper, spices, and precious metals, as well as small traders selling all types of goods. Today, modern goods are available as well, in addition to the many traditional corridor traders that still survive. It is located In Arg Square and the main entrance is Sabze meydoon.
The Grand Bazaar is located in southern Tehran; its many corridors are over 10 km in length. There are several entrances, some of which are locked and guarded at night.
, aging more than 70 years, containing 300,000 museum objects in an area more than 20,000 square meters, is not only the largest museum of History and Archaeology of the country, but ranks as one of the few most prestigious museums of the world in regard to grand volume, diversity and quality of its huge monuments. In the Iranian museum tradition it is considered Iran’s mother museum, aiming at preserving relics of the past to hand down to the next generations, enhancing better understanding among world peoples and nations, discovering and showing Iranian’s roles in shaping world culture and civilization and trying to enhance public knowledge.
Address: 30 Tir Ave, Emmam Khomeini Ave. Tehran